How it feels to fly

NaPoWriMo day 4. visited Busch Gardens with my family today which is where I got the inspiration for this poem.

 

solid bars, stiff steel

smooth to the touch, maybe too hot to feel?

(after all, it’s florida)

 

the colors beckon, and then

a jerk, a bump, and we’re off

pressure pushing us back as we climb to the top

we reach the hovering point, waiting for the drop

 

staring straight up, all I can see is blue sky

we’re up so high

the plummet takes hold and I feel like this

is how it feels to fly

 

instead of screams, ecstatic laughter fills the air

the wind rushes past, tangles in my hair

my stomach is in my throat, but I don’t care

this, maybe even this

is how it feels to fly

 

stepping off, giddy giggles

attempting to walk, legs wiggle

I stumble onward, still dizzy

but maybe this, the aftermath

is how it feels to fly

Share your thoughts!

